The River Ridge Development Authority is governed by a Board of Directors who are appointed by the political entities of Clark County, the City of Jeffersonville, the City of Charlestown, the Town of Utica, and the Indiana Port Commission. The Board governs the overall policies and procedures of River Ridge Commerce Center. The RRDA is operated by a professional staff led by Jerry Acy, Executive Director.

River Ridge Development Authority works to:

  • Involve the community in the redevelopment planning process
  • Keep the public informed about the progress
  • Inquire about community wants and needs
  • Solicit ideas for redevelopment
  • Cultivate community interest and support
  • Mitigate environmental concerns
  • Demolish antiquated or dilapidated structures and facilities
  • Develop road and utility infrastructure
  • Protect wildlife habitats
  • Adapt and incorporate best development practices
  • Balance fiscal responsibility with economic impacts
  • Review development proposals and capital investments that make efficient use of available land
  • Foster a distinctive, attractive sense of place
  • Make development decisions predictable, fair and cost-effective
  • Foster collaboration among various legislative, administrative and regulatory agencies
  • Establish and maintain the overall vision for the future of River Ridge

Meet the Board of Directors


Dr. Treva Hodges
President, Appointed by the City of Charlestown

Dr. Treva Hodges is the current Mayor of Charlestown, Indiana, serving her first term. She received her B.A. (2006) and M.A. (2008) in Communication Studies from the University of Alabama and completed her Ph.D. in Humanities at the University of Louisville in 2019, dissertation titled “The Captivity Narratives of Cynthia Ann Parker: Settler Colonialism, Collective Memory, and Cultural Trauma.”

Dr. Hodges began her professional career as a business analyst for a major southeastern mortgage banking company before transitioning into higher education where she has obtained over a decade of teaching and administrative experience. She has served in a variety of educational and community youth mentor programs and coordinated service learning initiatives and internship programs that connected economically and socially marginalized elementary and middle school-aged students with university resources to improve academic performance and foster interest in higher education.

Dr. Hodges has been recognized by her academic peers with a number of awards for service and research. She currently also serves on the Executive Board for River Hills Economic Development District. She loves living in Charlestown with her husband, Ed Byers, and an assortment of furry and feathered friends.

Edward “Ed” Meyer
Vice President, Appointed by the Town of Utica

EDWARD “ED” MEYER Secretary/Treasurer, appointed by the Town of Utica, Indiana, Mr. Meyer was a former Clark County commissioner for 12 years, and a member of the original Clark County team that helped pass federal legislation to acquire the roughly 6,000 acres from the U.S. Army to establish River Ridge. Mr. Meyer also worked with other government entities to develop the first interlocal agreement which set the framework for the River Ridge Development Authority that is still in place today. Mr. Meyer has a BS and master’s degree in education and retired after 40 years as a public school teacher. He also has extensive public service experience, in addition to being a commissioner, he was a member of the Clark County Council, President of the Clark County Building Authority, President of the Clark County Jail Authority, and many other civic organizations and youth programs

Philip W. “Phil” McCauley
Secretary/Treasurer, appointed by the Indiana Port Commission

Phil McCauley is a retired CPA having served 25 years in public accounting.   He began his public accounting career with Yeager, Ford and Warren CPAs in Louisville, Kentucky before becoming managing partner of McCauley Nicolas and Company, CPAs in Southern Indiana and Kentucky.  He also has served as Deputy Mayor, Executive Director of Redevelopment and City Councilperson for the city of Jeffersonville, IN. and as a financial advisor specializing in purchases, sales and valuations of businesses.

He has been married to Sandy Wolf McCauley for 56 years and they have four children, 9 grandchildren and one great-grandchild.

Phil presently serves as chairman of the Board of Align Southern Indiana and is on the board of Perrin Family Park. He has served on boards for St. Elizabeth’s Charities, Home of the Innocents, the Archdiocese of Indianapolis, Providence Junior-Senior High School, the Ports of Indiana, the Indiana Chamber of Commerce, Sacred Heart Church, the New Albany Deanery and Greater Clark County Schools Steering Committee for Next Generation Learning among other boards and committees.

Phil has received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Archdiocese of Indianapolis, Humanitarian of the Year from the Red Cross, Spirit of Hope Award from St. Elizabeth’s Catholic Charities and NAACP Clark County President’s award and other awards for civic services. He is an honorary member of the American Institute of CPAs.

Norman E. “Ned” Pfau, Jr.
Board Member, appointed by the City of Jeffersonville

Since 1965, Norman E. (Ned) Pfau, Jr. has been President and CEO of Geo. Pfau’s Sons Co. Geo. Pfau is an international manufacturer of specialty fats and oils. Mr. Pfau is a native Hoosier and a graduate of the Indiana University Kelley School of Business, earning a B.S. in Finance. Mr. Pfau’s current directorships include Indiana Manufacturers Association (past Chairman); Jeffersonville Urban Enterprise Association; Indiana University Foundation; Indiana University Varsity Club (past President); Paul Ogle Foundation. Bank One Kentucky (27 years); Your Community Bank (8 years); 20 years Indiana Port Commission; Indiana State Chamber of Commerce; Ivy Tech Community College (former Trustee); Clark County Metro United Way (past Chairman and President); Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis-Louisville Branch (past Chairman); Bridgepointe Goodwill & Easter Seals, Inc. (past President); Mr. Pfau was inducted into Kentuckiana Business Hall of Fame 2012; Honorary I-Man Indiana University in 2019; and Past recipient Red Cross Humanitarian Award and Ivy Tech Legacy Award.

Brian Lenfert
Board Member, appointed by Clark County

Brian Lenfert has served on the Clark County Council for over a decade. A successful entrepreneur, Lenfert started his construction management career in Indianapolis, Indiana leading to him founding his own real estate development company (Lenfert Properties).  He is an active member of the community, sitting on boards for the Floyd Memorial Foundation, German American Bank Advisory Board, and is President of the Clark County Jail Holding Corporation. Lenfert earned a B.S. in Building Construction Management from Purdue University. He resides in Sellersburg, Indiana with his wife and four children.